2021年9月24日

请参阅说明。单击图片将下载可用的最高分辨率版本。

Perseid Outburst at Westmeath Lookout
Image Credit & Copyright:
Pierre Martin

Explanation: This year an outburst of Perseid meteors surprised skywatchers. The reliable meteor shower’s peak was predicted for the night of August 12/13. But persistent visual observers in North America were deluged with a startling Perseid shower outburst a day later, with reports of multiple meteors per minute and sometimes per second in the early hours of August 14. The shower radiant is high in a dark night sky in this composite image. It painstakingly registers the trails of 282 Perseids captured during the stunning outburst activity between 0650 UT (02:50am EDT) and 0900 UT (05:00am EDT) on August 14 from Westmeath Lookout, Ontario. Of course the annual Perseid meteor shower is associated with planet Earth’s passage through dusty debris from periodic comet 109P/Swift-Tuttle. The 2021 outburst could have been caused by an unanticipated encounter with the Perseid Filament, a denser ribbon of dust inside the broader debris zone.

Tomorrow’s picture: The Bubble and the Star Cluster


英仙流星爆发
影像提供与版权:
Pierre Martin

说明: 今年的英仙流星雨,发生出乎观星者预期的大爆发。这群流星雨极大期的预报通常很准,而今年预测会落在8月12/13日那晚。不过,部分很执着的北美地区观测者,却在极大期1天后的8月14日清晨,见到令他们惊讶不已的英仙流星雨大爆发,每分钟(有时甚至每秒)可看到数颗流星。在这幅摄于加拿大安大略省韦斯特米斯观景台的组合影像里,这群流星雨的辐射点高悬在幽暗的夜空中,并在世界时0650(美东夏令时间02:50am)到0900(05:00am EDT)的大爆发期间,巨细靡遗的记录到282颗英仙流星。每年复现的英仙流星雨,起源地球穿过周期彗星史威福-塔托(109P/Swift-Tuttle)的尘埃碎片。而2021年的大爆发,可能是地球在宽广的碎片区里,意外的遇到一道较致密的英仙尘埃带

明日的图片: The Bubble and the Star Cluster

5 1 投票
文章评级
Tags:
0 评论
内联反馈
查看所有评论